No presence when using #Lync in Outlook 2010 and Outlook 2013

I ran into an issue today where Outlook 2010 would not display presence from Microsoft Lync.  The customer had un-installed Outlook 2010 and re-installed and that did not fix it.  We also had the customer remove Lync 2010 and delete the local cache.  That did not fix it either.  I went into the registry and looked under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\IM Providers and saw 2 entries (see image below).  The problem was the ConnectMessenger key.  I exported that key just in case I needed it again and then I deleted the key.  After restarting Outlook 2010 presence started to work again.  ConnectMessenger is part of the WebEx connect software.  Apparently there is some sort of problem with the 2 programs running on the same PC.

The registry key for 32-bit systems would be HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\IM Providers

image

Update 6/13/13: This issue is also directly related to the following registry key:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\IM Providers

You need to edit the “DefaultIMApp” value to reflect “Lync” without quotes.  Once this is done exit Outlook and then open.  Presence will now work.

12 thoughts on “No presence when using #Lync in Outlook 2010 and Outlook 2013

  1. hey man, you really rock.. I was worries that the status of user is not shown in outlook… million thanks to you. it worked.

  2. Thank you so much for posting this. My issue wasn’t the same, but your fix pointed me to the right place. I’d previously installed Skype. That set my default IM provider in the registry to Skype. Installing Lync didn’t update that, so presence info didn’t show up until I logged into Skype (something I didn’t try until I read your post). Using your post, I found where the registry keys are, made an update, and now things work.

    In my case, Skype and Communicator showed up in HKLM\SOFTWARE\IM Providers. That’s NOT where the issue was for me. There are also Keys in HKCU\Software\IM Providers. This is where a value called DefaultIMApp was set to Skype. I changed that value to Communicator and all works fine now.

    • This was my problem as well – Having 2 providers installed and not having the right one as the default. I wasn’t able to see the presence indicators in Internet Explorer or Outlook 2010, so I found my way here.

      I had installed Lync 2013 as a trial and then we rolled out Lync 2010 corporate wide. I had 2 IM Provider entries in my registry and the DefaultIMApp Key in HKCU\Software\IM Providers was set for Lync 2013. I adjusted the value to be Communicator (Lync 2010) and restarted Outlook and Internet Explorer and all of the presence indicators started showing up.

      A very logical solution when you know where to look. Thanks for your help.

  3. Thanks Alex C. … I solved the problem as the same way you showed. Changed the default value DefaultIMApp=Communicator instead of skype in HKCU\Software\IM Providers.

  4. This solved my issue after Cisco’s “Jabber” client broke my Lync/Outlook integration on both my laptop and my desktop. Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

